India Clinches 5th T20I and Series Victory with Six-Run Win Over Australia: Shreyas Iyer, Bowlers Excel

India Clinches 5th T20I and Series Victory with Six-Run Win Over Australia: Shreyas Iyer, Bowlers Excel

Bengaluru - India emerged victorious against Australia in the fifth T20I at M. Chinnaswamy Stadium in Bengaluru on Sunday, securing the series with a 4-1 lead, thanks to a dominant performance by the Indian bowling attack.

Mukesh Kumar initiated the breakthrough by dismissing Australian opener Josh Philippe for 4 runs in 2.3 overs (AUS 22-1). Ravi Bishnoi followed suit, claiming the wicket of Travis Head, who had been in good form, for 28 runs in 4.5 overs (AUS 47-2). Bishnoi continued his impactful bowling by dismissing Aaron Hardie for six runs in 6.6 overs (AUS 55-3).

Axar Patel took down Tim David for 17 runs in 13.2 overs (AUS 102-4), while Arshdeep Singh removed Ben McDermott for 54 runs in 14.6 overs (AUS 116-5). Mukesh Kumar struck again, dismissing Matthew Short for 16 runs in 16.3 overs (AUS 129-6), and later claimed his third wicket by dismissing Ben Dwarshuis for a duck in 16.4 overs.

In the final over, Arshdeep Singh's stellar performance included the dismissal of Aussie skipper Matthew Wade for 22 runs in 19.3 overs (AUS 151-8). Mukesh Kumar and Arshdeep Singh led the Indian bowling attack with three and two wickets, respectively. Ravi Bishnoi contributed with two wickets, while Axar Patel took one.

Following India's six-run victory in the fifth T20I, they became the second team to achieve the most wins (19) against a team in the 20-over format, specifically against Australia. Additionally, Suryakumar Yadav's team registered the second-lowest victory margin in the history of 'IND vs AUS' T20I matches.

Australia, having won the toss, opted to field first. India's innings saw a brisk start from Yashasvi Jaiswal, who scored a quick 21 off 15 balls but fell to Jason Behrendorff.

Shreyas Iyer (53) anchored the innings, while wickets fell at regular intervals. Rinku Singh, Jitesh Sharma, and Axar Patel made valuable contributions. Eventually, India posted a total of 160/8, with Ravi Bishnoi and Arshdeep Singh finishing the innings with some late runs.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.