Turmoil Unfolds in Parliament as 14 Opposition MPs Face Suspension After Breach

Turmoil Unfolds in Parliament as 14 Opposition MPs Face Suspension After Breach

New Delhi - Following a serious security breach in Parliament, a heated confrontation unfolded between the Opposition and the government.

The Opposition MPs demanded a statement from Union Home Minister Amit Shah and a discussion on the breach. As a result, 14 MPs were suspended—13 in Lok Sabha and one in Rajya Sabha—for the remainder of the Winter Session. The suspension announcement initially included a wrongly named Lok Sabha member, DMK’s S R Parthiban, later clarified as a mistake.

TMC’s Derek O’Brien was suspended from Rajya Sabha, while 13 Opposition MPs, including members from Congress, CPM, and DMK, were suspended from Lok Sabha. The Opposition criticized the move as "dictatorial" and pledged to continue pressing for Shah's statement. Senior ministers emphasized a high-level inquiry into the breach and urged against politicizing the issue.

In Lok Sabha, Defence Minister Rajnath Singh called for caution in issuing visitor passes and condemned disruptive behavior. In Rajya Sabha, Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar suspended Derek O’Brien for unruly behavior and referred his conduct to the Committee of Privileges. Opposition MPs demanded action against BJP's Pratap Simha, who recommended passes to the intruders, and called for Home Minister Shah's resignation. Speaker Om Birla expressed concern over the breach, emphasized the Parliament Secretariat's responsibility for security, and resisted government interference. Eventually, 13 MPs were suspended in two tranches amid continued protests.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.