UDF Sweeps Kerala; BJP's Suresh Gopi Wins Thrissur in Historic Victory

UDF Sweeps Kerala; BJP's Suresh Gopi Wins Thrissur in Historic Victory

BJP candidate Suresh Gopi has made history in Kerala by winning the Thrissur Lok Sabha seat with a majority of 75,686 votes, defeating CPI's V S Sunil Kumar and Congress' K Muraleedharan. This marks a significant victory for Gopi, a former Rajya Sabha member.

The overall election results in Kerala indicate a sweep for the UDF, which is leading in key constituencies. Congress leader and incumbent MP Shashi Tharoor retained his Thiruvananthapuram seat for the fourth consecutive term, defeating BJP's Union Minister Rajeev Chandrasekhar by a margin of 16,077 votes.

This is a noticeable decrease from his 2019 margin of 99,000 votes. Additionally, Congress’s Anto Antony triumphed over former Kerala Minister Thomas Issac by 66,064 votes.

The UDF is leading in 16 seats, while the LDF is ahead in just one. Congress leader Rahul Gandhi has secured Wayanad with a majority of 3.06 lakh votes. Hibi Eden, another Congress candidate and sitting MP, won Ernakulam with a margin of 2.50 lakh votes. In Pathanamthitta, the UDF also performed well. The only exception for the LDF is K Radhakrishhan, who maintains a lead in Alathur.

According to Shaju Philip's analysis, a significant factor favoring the UDF was the widespread resentment against the eight-year regime of the Pinarayi Vijayan-led CPI(M) government.

This discontent was evident even among CPI(M) supporters. Early analysis suggests that the Congress party successfully retained the minority votes from Muslims and Christians, which had shifted to the CPI(M)-led LDF during the 2021 assembly elections.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.