Early Trends Show ZPM Leading Over MNF in Mizoram Assembly Elections

Early Trends Show ZPM Leading Over MNF in Mizoram Assembly Elections

Aizwal - As the initial trends emerged on Monday morning for the Mizoram assembly elections, the Zoram People's Movement (ZPM), representing the opposition, took the lead over the ruling Mizo National Front (MNF).

TV channels reported that the ZPM was ahead in 11 seats, while the MNF was leading in six. PTI correspondents at the counting centers provided updates, indicating that the ZPM was leading in two seats, and the MNF in one.

The Election Commission website reflected a similar trend, showing the ZPM leading in one seat and the BJP leading in one.

The counting process for the 40 assembly seats began at 8 am across 13 centers. Initially, postal ballots were counted, followed by the counting of votes cast in the Electronic Voting Machines (EVMs) starting from 8:30 am.

While three counting centers were designated in the Aizawl district, which comprises 12 assembly constituencies, one center each was established in the remaining 10 districts. The election official noted that some seats with fewer voters would undergo only two rounds of counting, while most constituencies would have five rounds.

More than 4,000 personnel were engaged in the counting process, with 399 tables allocated for EVMs and 56 for the counting of postal ballots.

The polling, which took place on November 7, witnessed over 80% voter turnout among the state's 8.57 lakh voters. A total of 174 candidates, including 18 women, contested in the elections.

The MNF, ZPM, and Congress vied for 40 seats each, while the BJP fielded candidates in 23 seats. The Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) participated in the Mizoram assembly polls for the first time, competing in four seats. Additionally, there were 17 Independent candidates.

Exit polls suggested various outcomes, with some predicting a clean sweep by the ZPM, while others hinted at a hung House without any party securing a clear majority.

In the previous assembly elections held in 2018, the MNF had won 26 seats, the ZPM secured eight seats, the Congress obtained five seats, and the BJP won one seat.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.