Chandy Oommen's Historic Victory in Puthuppally By-Election: Carrying Forward a Political Legacy

Chandy Oommen's Historic Victory in Puthuppally By-Election: Carrying Forward a Political Legacy

Thiruvananthapuram - In a historic turn of events, the Puthuppally bypoll concluded with a resounding victory for Chandy Oommen, successor to the late veteran politician Oommen Chandy. Chandy Oommen secured an impressive margin of 37,719 votes, solidifying his position as the elected representative for this constituency.

The election results showcased Chandy Oommen's popularity, as he garnered a staggering 80,144 votes. In comparison, the LDF candidate, Jaick C Thomas, received 42,425 votes, while the BJP's candidate, Lijin Lal, secured a modest 6,558 votes.

This election result not only marked the rise of Chandy Oommen but also surpassed his father's previous record for the largest margin of victory in Puthuppally. Oommen Chandy's highest margin had been 33,255 votes in 2011, making Chandy Oommen's victory by 37,719 votes a significant achievement.

The election also witnessed shifts in support compared to the previous contest. The LDF experienced a decrease of 12,682 votes, while the BJP faced a more substantial setback, losing 5,247 votes compared to their previous performance.

The UDF celebrated success across all panchayats, indicating broad-based support for Chandy Oommen's candidacy. Even in the panchayat of Manarkad, where the LDF candidate hailed from, Chandy Oommen maintained a dominant presence.

This victory was particularly meaningful for Chandy Oommen, who carried the memory of his father's legacy into the election. It served as a testament to the enduring love and respect for Oommen Chandy's contributions to the constituency.

The Puthuppally constituency, located in the southern Kottayam district, had witnessed intense campaigning in the lead-up to this bypoll. The contest was prestigious for both the ruling Left Democratic Front (LDF) and the opposition United Democratic Front (UDF).

The election results were counted at the special counting station in Baselius College, albeit with a slight delay. The process included the meticulous counting of postal votes and service ballots from a total of 182 booths in Puthuppally. Electronic voting machines were counted in 13 rounds, with tight security measures in place.

This bypoll became necessary due to the passing of Congress leader and former chief minister Oommen Chandy, who had represented the constituency for a remarkable 53 years. Chandy Oommen's victory not only secured his place in the political landscape but also carried forward the legacy of his father.

Chandy Oommen, expressing gratitude to the voters, pledged to work for the development of Puthuppally, emphasizing a commitment to the constituency's progress, regardless of political affiliations. In his victory speech, he thanked senior Congress leaders and the Muslim League for their support and cautioned against any violence towards Congress workers in the constituency.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.