CHARIS Elects New Leadership Team for 2023-2027

CHARIS Elects New Leadership Team for 2023-2027

Rome – Elections to the CHARIS International Service of Communion were held from October 29 to October 31, for the term 2023-2027. The new members were elected at the event held at the prestigious Pontificio Collegio Internazionale Maria Mater Ecclesiae in Rome.

The election process was led by a 5-member Election Commission appointed by the Vatican Dicastery for Laity, Family, and Life.

74 delegates with voting rights participated in the election. This included 55 national delegates, CHARIS members, and representatives from Associations with Pontifical Recognition.

In addition to the 74 delegates with voting rights, 31 delegates without voting rights also participated, bringing the combined participation of these delegates to 105.

Opening Mass Presided by Cardinal Raniero Cantalamessa OFM Cap:
The election event began with the solemn Mass celebrated by Cardinal Raniero Cantalamessa OFM Cap. The Holy Mass set the spiritual tone for the gathering, invoking the guidance of the Holy Spirit and seeking divine blessings for the election process.

Mr. Pino Scafuro from Argentina (representing Latin America) will serve as the new CHARIS Moderator. 

The elected team now comprises of 19 distinct individuals who will represent various facets of the CHARIS International Service of Communion organization. The elected members are as follows
• Mr Pino Scafuro (Argentina) - CHARIS Moderator
• Mr Andres Arango (USA)
• Chevalier Cyril John (India)
• Mr Fred Adrian Mawanda (Uganda)
• Mr Jean Christophe Anani Sakiti (Togo)
• Mr Shayne Bennett (Australia)
• Mrs Fe Mantuhac-Barino (Philippines)
• Mrs Cathy Brento (France)
• Mr Tony Laureys (Belgium)
• De Gongora Maria Eugenia (Guatemala)
• Msgr. Malagreca Joseph (USA)
• Mr. Reynoso Zamora Eddy Hayley (Ecuador)
• Mrs Roldi Katia (Brazil)
• Mr Bertucci Johnny (USA) - representing Ministries
• Fr Christophe Blin (France) - Representing Priests
• Mrs Betty Namusoke (Uganda) - Representing Communities
• Br. James Yu (South Korea) - Representing Communities
• Mr Francois Proteau (France) - Representing Associations with Pontifical Recognition
• Mr Josip Bilandzija (Croatia) - Representing Youth)

The elected members hail from diverse regions worldwide, including the USA, India, Uganda, Togo, Australia, Philippines, France, Belgium, Guatemala, Ecuador, Brazil, South Korea, and Croatia.

The Concluding Mass was presided over by Cardinal Kevin Farrell, Prefect of the Vatican Dicastery for Laity, Family, and Life.

CHARIS is led by a Moderator assisted by the International Service of Communion. The function of the Moderator is fixed by the Statutes (art. 11). Between them, to promote and develop Catholic Charismatic Renewal as a current of grace in the Church and for the Church; to promote the work of unity in the Body of Christ; to ensure good communication between the ecclesiastical authorities and Catholic Charismatic Renewal worldwide, and in particular with the Holy See through the Dicastery for Laity, Family and Life.

The comments posted here are not from Cnews Live. Kindly refrain from using derogatory, personal, or obscene words in your comments.